CIDM 2011

2011 IEEE Symposium on Computational Intelligence and Data Mining

2011  IEEE Symposium  on  Computational Intelligence  and Data  Mining  (IEEE  CIDM  2011)  will  bring  together  scientists,  engineers  and students from around  the world to discuss the  latest advances in the field  of computational  intelligence applied  to issues  in  data and process  mining.  This  conference   will  provide  a  forum  for  the presentation   of   recent   results   in  data   mining   algorithms, applications, software and data and process mining systems.


Some  of  the topics  covered  include  applications of  computational  intelligence technologies,  such as neural  networks, graphical models and  fuzzy  systems for  data  modeling  and  data understanding,  new approaches  for  handling  uncertainty, evolutionary  computation  and other  emerging optimization  techniques in  the following  or similar areas:

  •  CI/probabilistic/statistical and other methods
  •  Data understanding, rule extraction, logical models
  •  Feature extraction, selection, aggregation, construction
  •  Multimedia data mining, recognition and interpretation of image and video sequences
  •  Mining of signals and data streams
  •  Mining spatial and spatio-temporal data
  •  Mining of very large datasets, scalability
  •  Text, graph and web mining
  •  Meta-learning, predictive data mining
  •  Visual data mining
  •  Process Mining
  •  Medical Data Analysis
  •  Case studies
  •  Applications  to biometrics,  biomedicine, chemistry,  drug design,  e-commerce,   engineering,   finance   and   marketing   research,  intelligence,  industry, remote  sensing, scientific  data mining,  security, sensory networks and others.

Call for Special Activities

IEEE  CIDM 2011  solicits proposals  for special  sessions  within the  technical scope of the symposium, focusing on a specific topic. Papers submitted  to special  sessions will  be peer-reviewed  with  the same criteria used  for the  contributed papers. Special  session proposals should include the session title,  a brief description of the scope, a list  of potential  authors who  might  submit papers  to the  special session,  and brief bios  of the  special session  organizers. Experts interested in  organizing a special session,  data mining competition, software or tutorial  presentation should submit a proposal  to one of the CIDM Co-Chairs.

Symposium Co-Chairs

Nitesh Chawla, University of Notre Dame, USA
Irwin King, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
Alessandro Sperduti, Padova University, Italy

Program Committee

Wil M.P. van der Aalst, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
Hussein Abbass, Australia Defence Force Academy, Australia
Lotfi Ahmad, Nottingham Trent University, UK
Eydgahi Ali, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, USA
Rezaul Begg, Victoria University, Australia
Elia Biganzoli, University of Milan, Italy
Jonathan Chan, KMUTT, Thailand
Xiang Cheng, National Universityof Singapore, Singapore
Jose Alfredo F Costa, Federal University at RN State, Brazil
Sven F. Crone, Lancaster University Management School, UK
Alfredo Cuzzocrea, ICAR-CNR, Italy
Alok Kanti Deb, Indian Institute of Technology at Kharagpur, India
Cecilia Di Chio, University of Essex, UK
Scott Dick, University of Alberta, Canada
Carlotta Domeniconi, George Mason University, USA
Hai-Bin DUAN, Beihang University, China
Nelson Ebecken, COPPE/Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Mark Embrechts, RPI, USA
Floriana Esposito, University of Bari, Italy
Xiaocong Fan, Portland State University, USA
Diogo R. Ferreira, IST - Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal
Patrick Gallinari, UPMC, LIP6, France
Antonella Guzzo, University of Calabria, Italy
Saman Halgamuge, University of Melbourne, Australia
Larry Hall, University of South Florida, USA
Barbara Hammer, Clausthal University of Technology, Germany
Pitoyo Hartono, Fukuda University, Japan
Qi He, Penn State University, USA
Chris Hinde, Laborough University of Science and Technology, UK
Xiaolin Hu, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Kaizhu Huang, The Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Eyke Hllermeier, Uni-Marburg, Germany
Sarangapani Jagannathan, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA
Janusz Kacprzyk, Polish Academy of Science, Poland
Mehmed Kantardzic, University of Louisville, USA
Nikola Kasabov, AUT University, New Zealand
Marzuki Khalid, University of Technology, Malaysia
Tamara G. Kolda, Sandia National Labs, USA
Krzysztof Kubalik, Nicolaus Copernicus University, Poland
Wai Lam, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Vincent C S Lee, Monash University, Australia
Paulo Lisboa, Liverpool John Moores University, UK
Ying Liu, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
Baoding Liu, Tsinghua University, China
Francesco Masulli, University of Genova, Italy
Ian Nabney, Aston University, UK
Chen-Sen Ouyang, National Sun Yat-Sen University, Taiwan
Sankar K. Pal, Indian Statistical Institute, India
Gary Parker, Connecticut College, USA
Jon D. Patrick, University of Sydney, Australia
Roman Slowinski, Pozna-1 University of Technology, Poland
Kate Smith-Miles, Monash University, Australia
Mu-Chun Su, National Central University, Taiwan
Bingjun Sun, Penn State University, USA
Changyin Sun, Southeast University, China
Johan Suykens, K. U. Leuven University, Belgium
Ryszard Tadeusiewicz, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland
Roberto Tagliaferri, University of Salerno, Italy
Kay Chen Tan, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Dat Tran, University of Canberra, Australia
Francisco Fernndez de Vega, University of Extremadura, Spain
Brijesh Verma, Central Queensland University, Australia
Guoyin Wang, Chongqing Univ of Posts & Telecom, China
Lipo Wang, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Michal Wozniak, Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland
Zenglin Xu, Saarland University and Max-Planck-Institute for Informatics, Germany
Haixuan Yang, Royal Holloway University, UK
John Zeleznikow, Victoria University, Australia
Xiaoqin Zeng, HoHai University, China
Yanqing Zhang, Georgia State University, USA
Zhi-Hua Zhou, Nanjing University, China